Metrolina Council of Nursing Organizations
Metrolina CouncilofNursing Organizations

Recommend this page on:

Betty Garrison Award

A tribute to Betty Garrison, RN, BS, MSPH

Metrolina (formally Mecklenburg) Council of Nursing Organizations President 2003 - 2005


Betty Garrison, who succumbed to ovarian cancer on August 18, 2007, was a much loved and well respected nurse in the Charlotte community throughout her nursing career.  For 37 years, Betty was an integral part of the Charlotte Institue of Rehabilitation, now known as the Carolinas Rehabilitation, serving hundreds of patients in roles of management, quality assurance, and discharge planner.  Her passion for patient advocacy was evident to both her patients and her medical peers.  She went above and beyond what was required of her.


Betty was a career long member of ANA and NCNA and was always talking up the need for her nursing peers to become members.  She never lost an opportunity to encourage nursing students with whom she came in contact to join ANA/NCNA upon graduation.  Professionalism was at the top of her agenda!


Not only did Betty join her professional organizations, she served in many offices including NCNA Board of Directors, District 5 President and Board member, and on numerous committees.  Betty was also a strong support of MCONO and agreed to serve as MCONO President for two years from 2003-2005.  Additionally, she chaired the MCONO Door Prize committee for many years and was one of the most successful solicitors of door prizes ever!  She loved it!


One of Betty's goals was to provide some free banquet tickets for senior nursing students. She never quite attained this goal so with the support of their respective school, students are able to attend the Celebrate Nursing Banquet.  The students are selected by their faculty based on qualities evident in Betty's life and career.  These qualities include patient care excellence, patient advocacy, involvement in the nursing profession, commitment to community service, love of nursing education, a good sense of humor, and a genuine kindness and friendliness for those one meets.



2023 Award Recipients

Connor Borst, Northeastern University

Kimberly Clemons, Stanly Community College

Kaitlin Emmert, Cleveland Community College

Catherine Halley, Carolinas College of Health Sciences

Ariel Jordan, Wingate University

Carly Platt, Wingate University

Maggie Smith, Queens University of Charlotte

2022 Award Recipients

Casey Almond, Gardner-Webb, Hunt School of Nursing

Ashley Beaty, Queens University

Brandon Carmen, UNC Charlotte School of Nursing

Kadidja Djibril, Northeastern University

Rhacinda "Cindy" Douglas, Cleveland Community College

Taleah Frazier, UNC Chapel Hill School of Nursing

Charles "Chuck" Jennings, Gardner-Webb, Hunt School of Nursing

Autumn Jordan, Carolinas College of Health Sciences

Jill Ledbetter, Stanly Community College

Janeth Medellin-Tapia, Wingate University, Department of Nursing

Hannah Patterson, Gardner-Webb, Hunt School of Nursing

2019 Award Recipients

Micalah Bright, Gardner-Webb University

Shannon Hiott, Gaston College

Kynadee Hoke, University of North Carolina at Charlotte

John Jones, Central Piedmont Community College

Paula Rodriguez, Wingate University

Wendi Skeens, Chamberlain University Charlotte Campus

Rebecca Stewart, Central Piedmont Community College

Serita Sutton, Chamberlain University Charlotte Campus

Monica Wampler, Stanly Community College


2018 Award Recipients

2017 Award Recipients

Holly Brigman, Pfeiffer University

Chelsea Grant, Wingate University

Starr Tate, Gardner-Webb University

Laura Patty, CPCC

Cassidy Capell, CPCC

Kyla Donnelly, Gaston College

Sarah Hardin, UNCC

2016 Award Recipients

Print | Sitemap
© Metrolina Council of Nursing Organizations